Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

House LGBT Caucus Commemorates the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Riots

Jun 28, 2019
Press Release


420 Cannon House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20003

Date: June 28, 2019      Contact:  Aliya Bean, (202) 225-2305


House LGBT Caucus Commemorates the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Riots

Washington D.C. – The Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus today released the following statement commemorating the historic Stonewall Riots on June 28, 1969. Today, which marks the 50th anniversary, we honor the brave LGBTQ people who put and continue to put their lives on the line to resist.

The uprising at The Stonewall Inn in New York City, though not the first of its kind, was a decisive marker in the birth of the modern-day LGBTQ rights movement in the US. Yet, half a century after Marsha P. Johnson, Sylvia Rivera and other trailblazing transgender women of color courageously led the fight outside Stonewall, too many LGBTQ Americans continue to experience discrimination and hate—particularly transgender women of color who suffer from disproportionately high rates of homelessness, violence, and murder. Their stories are crucial reminders that though we have made immense progress in the fight for equality, dignity, and respect for LGBTQ people, our work is far from done.

“50 years ago, a group of LGBTQ individuals at the Stonewall Inn stood up in the face of intolerance at great personal risk, catalyzing a movement that has brought us to this day,” said LGBT Equality Caucus Co-Chair Rep. Chris Pappas (NH-01). “As we continue our march toward equality, we recognize the lives and legacies of those who came before us and changed hearts, minds, and laws. It is imperative we honor them with action and re-commit ourselves to full equality for all.”

Please contact Aliya Bean at 202-225-2305 or with press inquiries.

Founded in 2008, the mission of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus is to promote lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) equality. The Caucus, which is led by the eight openly LGBT members of Congress, is strongly committed to achieving the full enjoyment of human rights for LGBT people in the U.S. and around the world.