Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

House LGBT Caucus Announces Bipartisan, 102 Person Membership in the 115th Congress

Feb 6, 2017
Press Release

1727 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515

Date: February 6, 2017         Contact:  Roddy Flynn, (202) 226-7572


House LGBT Caucus Announces Bipartisan, 102 Person Membership in the 115th Congress

Membership includes a majority of all House Democrats

Washington D.C. -- The Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus announced its bi-partisan membership list for the 115th Congress today.  The Caucus will continue to be Co-Chaired by the six openly LGBT members of the House of Representatives:  Jared Polis (CO-02), David N. Cicilline (RI-01), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09), and Mark Takano (CA-41).

“On behalf of the co-chairs, I thank my colleagues in both parties who have joined the LGBT Equality Caucus and pledged to stand for and with the LGBT community,” said LGBT Equality Caucus Co-Chair Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09).  “While we’ve made significant process in recent years, we still have more work to do and must protect the progress we’ve made.  Our caucus continues to work to ensure every American has the fundamental freedom and opportunity to pursue the American Dream.”

The Caucus also announced the eleven Vice Chairs of the Caucus, who will assist the Co-Chairs in leading the Caucus and promoting LGBT equality in the House:  Ted Deutch (FL-22), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Joseph P. Kennedy, III (MA-04), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Ted W. Lieu (CA-33), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Jerrold Nadler (NY-10), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Linda T. Sánchez (CA-38), and Adam B. Schiff (CA-28).

The Caucus’s general members are:  Pete Aguilar (CA-31), Nanette Barragan (CA-44), Karen Bass (CA-37), Ami Bera (CA-07), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Robert A. Brady (PA-01), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Tony Cárdenas (CA-29), André Carson (IN-07), Matt Cartwright (PA-17), Judy Chu (CA-27), Katherine Clark (MA-05), Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Charlie Crist (FL-13), Joseph Crowley (NY-14), Carlos Curbelo (FL-26), Susan A. Davis (CA-53), Diana DeGette (CO-01), John K. Delaney (MD-06), Suzan K. DelBene (WA-01), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Eliot L. Engel (NY-16), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Elizabeth H. Esty (CT-05), Bill Foster (IL-11), Lois Frankel (FL-21), Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), Al Green (TX-09), Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-03), Luis V. Gutiérrez (IL-04), Colleen Hanabusa (HI-01), Denny Heck (WA-10), Brian Higgins (NY-26), James A. Himes (CT-04), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30), William R. Keating (MA-09), Ruben J. Kihuen (NV-04), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Ann M. Kuster (NH-02), Jim Langevin (RI-02), David Loebsack (IA-02), Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-01), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Donald McEachin (VA-04), Grace Meng (NY-06), Gwen Moore (WI-04), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-AL), Frank Pallone, Jr.  (NJ-06), Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Ed Perlmutter (CO-07), Scott Peters (CA-52), Chellie Pingree (ME-01), David Price (NC-04), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Kathleen Rice (NY-04), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-27), Raul Ruiz (CA-36), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Bradley S. Schneider (IL-10), Robert C. "Bobby" Scott (VA-03), José E. Serrano (NY-15), Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01), Brad Sherman (CA-30), Louise McIntosh Slaughter (NY-25), Jackie Speier (CA-14), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Dina Titus (NV-01), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Niki Tsongas (MA-03), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Marc A. Veasey (TX-33), Tim Walz (MN-01), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), Peter Welch (VT-00), Frederica S. Wilson (FL-24).

Please contact Roddy Flynn at 202-257-8416 or with press inquiries.

The mission of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus is to promote lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) equality. The bi-partisan LGBT Equality Caucus is strongly committed to achieving the full enjoyment of human rights for LGBT people in the U.S. and around the world. By serving as a resource for Members of Congress, their staff, and the public on LGBT issues, the Caucus works toward the extension of equal rights, the repeal of discriminatory laws, the elimination of hate-motivated violence, and the improved health and wellbeing for all regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.